Big Meadow Family Campground

8215 Cedar Creek Road
Townsend, TN 37882

(888) 497-0625

(865) 448-0625

  •      
D
Not Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
They are a master at lying and deception
100 % of users found this review helpful
Do NOT stay here. First experience at this campground. Campground staff called us on our way to campground and told us they had a much better site for us if we wanted to move. We were pleased that they were looking out for us. WRONG. They had a couple request our spot so they moved us to the boiling sun. When we told them we did not wish to move we were told we had NO choice. We made our reservations for the holiday weekend months in advance only to be moved against our wishes. Then they lied saying I requested the new spot. Never in all our years of camping have we ever been lied to or talked to in this manner. The reviews stated they were voted best campground several years in the past. For the life of me I cannot understand why! They have us over a barrel since it is a holiday weekend and no other sites available in town. Plus, they do not give refunds. But I can assure you we will NEVER be back!
(...more...)

Big Meadow SUCKERS
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 06/30/2016
A
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
Great First Camping Experience
0 % of users found this review helpful
We chose Big Meadow for our first RV experience, based on a friend recommendation. Perfect place for a family. Kids loved the splash pad and playground. I spent plenty of time catching trout and smallmouth at the creek. Close enough to Dollywood but far enough away from the hustle and bustle. Sites were level and everything was clean. Did I mention quiet? All other campers were polite and very kind to my children. Loved it and will definitely return. We did have to reset the 30 amp breaker a few times. This was probably due to it being over 95 degrees though. We stayed in a TT in site 49 and it was perfect for being able to watch the kids play. Definitely would recommend. Clean, safe, quiet, and entertaining. Made our first trip a great experience.
(...more...)

Coach
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 06/18/2016
D-
Not Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
Don't stay here
0 % of users found this review helpful
Very cramped, like Sardines in a can, no room for pets or children to play outside your camper. No fire pits at sites. Gravel sites are not level. WIFI wouldn't work. The term they use "Easy in Easy Out" is a joke. First and last visit here. Very disappointed, upset and wish I could get a refund on my second nights stay and move to another campground. Such a waste of time and money
(...more...)

Allegro
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 04/15/2016
A+
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
sheer camping delight
0 % of users found this review helpful
We found big meadows campground when the campground we had planned on staying was full. the campground staff called big meadows and they had a spot available. this was definitely our very lucky day. a wonderful place to camp at the foot of the great smoky mountains. townsend is a great little town, kind of a gateway to Gatlinburg thru the back door after a beautiful drive thru the great smokies. this is just a 2 day adventure. there is so many wonderful places to visit that a person has to have at least a week to enjoy each one. then you return to your campsite at big meadows, where you build your campfire and enjoy watching the sun go down,chatting with very pleasant neighbor campers in a very quite atmosphere. Later you enjoy your shower in a very clean rest room. if all you campers want to enjoy a lifelong camping experience then big meadows campground is for you. we have been back 5 times and wikk try for another when health improves
(...more...)

elbow
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 11/13/2015
A+
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
Crftyrvr
0 % of users found this review helpful
Wonderful park and wonderful people. I always tell everyone this is a great park, and really close to Cades Cove. We want to go back.
(...more...)

Crftyrvr
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 11/12/2015
A+
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
Wonderful week
0 % of users found this review helpful
We camped 9/20-9/27, 2015, met up with Friends from North Carolina, and Alabama. We get together for the "Old Timers Fall Festival", in Townsend.Big Meadow is a Great Campground, friendly, professional staff. The facilities are clean, and laid out well, the campground is laid out excellent, with large sites. In September and October bring shorts and clothes for low 80's and jeans and a light jacket, for mornings in the high 50's. We will be back, have already made reservations.
(...more...)

Tnx Cowboy
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 09/27/2015
A+
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
Great weekend
0 % of users found this review helpful
We had a wonderful weekend at this campground we have stayed at the KOA other places in Townsend this was the most friendliest quietest the most enjoyable weekend we've had all summer
(...more...)

Momabear
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 09/19/2015
A+
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
Summer stay
0 % of users found this review helpful
We loved the campground and the ease of travel to other attractions around. We really loved the river in front of our campsite and being able to float from right outside our front door.
(...more...)

Campingmom1
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 07/24/2015
A+
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
Awesome
0 % of users found this review helpful
We stayed over Memorial weekend in 2015 and we had a motorhome. This was our first time at Big Meadows and we stayed in lot 77. We enjoyed it so much that we booked it for next Memorial weekend.
(...more...)

First Timers
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 07/14/2015
A+
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
Wonderful Vacation
0 % of users found this review helpful
My wife and 3 Kids had our best camping experience to date at Big Meadow. The campground is REALLY clean and the care and concern they have for their customers is at a level that is hard to find these days. We loved the location. There is everything you need within 1 mile of the campground. We thoroughly enjoyed the tubing place next door and had a wonderful overall camping experience! We loved it so much that we have already booked 2 more visits this summer. I would recommend that if you have small children that you avoid the camping spots that back up to the road by the river. We cannot wait to get back there soon!!!!
(...more...)

grimes123
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 07/10/2015

12