Buttonwood Campground

PO Box 223
Mexico, PA 17056

(717) 436-8334

Description

Book your spring and summer camping trip now at Buttonwood Campground!

270 Total Sites

26 Pull Thru Sites

5 Sites with 20 Amp

129 Sites with 30 Amp

87 Sites with 50 Amp

129 Sites with 100 Amp

45' Max RV Length

Directions:    From Rt 322-22 take Rt. 75 (Port Royal Exit). At flashing red light, turn left to Mexico, then right onto River Road.

Additional Info:    Courtesy of Camping.com

Amenities

Onsite

  • Pull Thru Available
  • Full Hookups
  • 50 Amp Available
  • Accom Big Rigs
  • Tent Sites Available
  • Group Area
  • WiFi
  • Internet Access
  • River
  • Laundry
  • Conven Store
  • Propane
  • Dump Station
  • Sewer Hookups
  • Picnic Area
  • BBQ Facilities
  • ADA Accessible
  • Lodging - Other
  • Club/Meeting Room
  • Chapel Services
  • Pets Welcome
  • Rural Setting
  • Family Park

Recreation

Onsite

Nearby

  • Scenic Driving
  • Sightseeing

Recent Reviews

  •      
  • More Reviews

B-
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
Pretty Good with some room for improvement
0 % of users found this review helpful
Our first trip was during the July "Wet N Wild Weekend II" weekend, 2015. The main reason for us trying the camp was to give the kids a chance to do float trips down the river. However, the river was unusually high during our stay and all tubing and kayaking trips were cancelled. This was a big disappointment to us and although it was out of the camps control it would have been nice if they offered us some concession for not having that opportunity available. Luckily the camp had enough activities to keep the kids reasonably entertained for the weekend. The wet hayride and laser tag were fun, but there were long lines for both especially the hay ride that took three trips (45 minutes per trip) to get all those in line a ride. The folks at the back of the line had to wait 1.5 hour in the hot sun before getting a chance to get on the ride. We would suggest that the camp offer tickets with numbers (for both the hay ride and the laser tag) and a suggested time to arrive, so that campers could avoid waiting in long lines. We would also suggest that the fire department tone it down on the fire-hose treatment during the hay ride. The amount of water coming down was overwhelming for a long period of time and some of the smaller children had to leave the ride crying after being sprayed with the cold water from the fire hose. The staff was polite and friendly. The camp is clean and if you forget something, they probably have it in their store at a price that is not too unreasonable. Our kids particularly enjoyed the pillow bounce. We would like to try the camp again sometime, but will check the river level first to make sure the kayaking and tubing float trips are available.
(...more...)
courtesy of guestrated.com

RockvillleMD
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 07/13/2015
A+
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
hot guy who worked there
0 % of users found this review helpful
there was this guy who worked there in the afternoon who was always riding around in his gold cart. he said he'd been there one year, used to do construction, and has a child. we called him drew hahahahahaha highlight of the trips but my family & friends talked to him for over a half hour & he called my brother the nicest kid he's ever met ??
(...more...)
courtesy of guestrated.com

woahhcurlyy
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 07/12/2015
D-
Not Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
Review
0 % of users found this review helpful
First time at Buttonwood for July 4th weekend, will never go back. Sites are nice, but my nieces, 4, 10, 11 were so bored they asked to go home 2 days into the long weekend. You had to pay 20.00 extra for a wrist band for the jumping pillow and to go tubing which the campground didn't do. Over top of paying for the site, all you get included is the pool which is so small that it could be someone's back yard pool. The playgrounds weren't nothing to write home about, my nieces didn't even entertain the thought of going to them. Absolutely nothing to do there, so all three families left early.
(...more...)
courtesy of guestrated.com
Management Response
Thank you for your review and saying that our sites are nice. I do not get a lot of complaints about being bored, so I apologize for not having a good explanation. Most of our customers are thrilled with what all we offer. The pool is included with your site and I will agree we have out grown the size of our pool. We plan to put in a bigger pool when we are financially able to do so. Usually the pool is not so crowded because most people spend their day in the river. Unfortunately the river was high do to an excessive amount of rain and not at a safe level. This is the reason for not being able to do the tubing on the river. However, the wristband is not only for the jumping pillow and tubing, it also includes the pedal carts, mini golf, laser tag, and water wars. On top of that, we also have themed activities that are included in your site rate. This weekend included a kids craft, corn hole tournament, 4th of July parade through the park, hay wagon ride, and a party with a DJ Saturday night. We have 2 playgrounds in the park. One is smaller than the other, so I am not sure if you got to see the larger playground. Most of our customers say we have a great playground. Unfortunately it did rain a good portion of the weekend. Again, I apologize for you not receiving the experience you were looking for when you stayed with us. Ryan McFarland General Manager
(...more...)

RV'er For Life
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 07/06/2015
C-
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
disappointed
0 % of users found this review helpful
campgrounds is clean staff is very helpful and friendly .but there is to many golf carts for the size of the campgrounds . so you are always getting out of there way making things unsafe for walking and bike riding also sad to say several people are drinking and some drunk .this is a family camp grounds where are the rules .
(...more...)
courtesy of guestrated.com
Management Response
Thank your saying our park is clean. We work very hard and put a lot into the upkeep. Also, thank you for the comments about the staff. They will appreciate that. As for your concerns, I apologize if you were mislead to believe we were an alcohol free park. Yes, we are a family friendly park, however there are many families where the parents have a few drinks. We do have a rule that alcohol is not supposed to leave the campsite, but I only enforce this rule if someone is out of hand. Unfortunately, you were here on July 4th weekend and I am sure some of our customers had a little more than they should have. We worked very hard on keeping order. We cannot be everywhere at once, but if we had been notified of a situation we would have gladly taken care of it. As for the golf carts, we did have several carts in the park this weekend. We tried very hard to enforce our golf cart rules as well. If someone was getting out of hand on the golf carts they were asked to park the cart. Again, I apologize if you did not have the experience you were hoping to have at our park.
(...more...)

Bob
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 07/05/2015