Buttonwood Campground

PO Box 223
Mexico, PA 17056

(717) 436-8334

  •      
A+
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
Peaceful place With Beautiful Views
0 % of users found this review helpful
My wife and I recently spent a long weekend at Buttonwood Campground. We had a very nice weekend (and it actually felt like a long weekend, not just flying by as if it didn't happen!) We were quite happy during our stay. Employees are very friendly and accommodating and, from our site, there was a beautiful view of the mountain across the river. There is a nice driving tour of the surrounding area which includes a covered bridge and some local historical spots. They also have a tubing/kayak/canoe run down the river, so come prepared to spend time in the water. The only thing I found could be better, was the mini golf course. It's actually a nice course with really nice landscaping. But, the landscaping needs to be reigned in a bit. Some spots were so overgrown that it was too difficult to see around or play through. Also, the pool seems a bit small for the size of the campground and I felt like it could be easily overwhelmed. Overall though, I would definitely recommend spending some time there.
(...more...)

CS3
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 08/26/2017
A+
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
Pleasant, quiet, relaxing
0 % of users found this review helpful
This campground is beautiful. Lovely landscaping. River for lazy tubing, kayaking, fishing or just frolicking. Pool is small, but kept clean. Could use a dog park (with shade). Bathrooms are dated, but clean. There are stores conveniently close (Weis, Mexico Market, Rutters, Dollar General, Tractor Supply, etc...). A train runs across the river and can be loud once in a while, but I grew up with trains and don't mind them a bit. The owner/manager, Ryan, is very helpful and accommodating. He's here and seems 100% invested. When the river is high, they don't have tubing (but you can tube at your own risk). We will be back.
(...more...)

FeistyOne
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 07/30/2017
A+
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
Too short a stay
0 % of users found this review helpful
This is one of the nicest campgrounds in Pa. Our experience was Great! The campground landscaping was top class. Whoever is in charge of this needs to be commended. Spacious campsites! Nice fire pits. And the Wine display hut was pretty nice too! The Girl does an excellent job!!!!
(...more...)

Slim
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 07/18/2017
A+
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
Top Marks
0 % of users found this review helpful
I've stayed other places on the Susky and Juniata Rivers and you won't find a more helpful staff, friendlier family, or cleaner campground anywhere. Ryan, Lailani, and Lacey always look out for me and my group.
(...more...)

The Fishing Man
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 07/05/2017
D-
Not Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
Never again
0 % of users found this review helpful
I will never go back to Buttonwood. They changed what used to be a fun place to now a strict rules for ADULTS kind of place. They charge 5 dollars for guests to see their friends at their site for the day...5 dollars! Like they don't make enough money as it is charging 75 for a campsite a night. Alchohol? No more fun events with a nice adult beverage in hand, corn hole and horseshoe tournaments they hold...yep no more holding an ice cold beverarge other than water in a clear plastic bottle. As far as some of the workers there...not the kindest.
(...more...)

Camotuber
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 07/04/2017
A+
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
Best camping
0 % of users found this review helpful
This was our first time camping at Buttonwood. What a fantastic experience. The campground was clean and well maintained. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The sites were all level and spacious. We will definitely return again.
(...more...)

Titan1
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 06/17/2017
A+
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
excellent campground
0 % of users found this review helpful
We rented a cabin for the Easter weekend. The campground was pet friendly,clean, quiet and fantastic. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. They also have a lot of kid friendly activities as well. You can be sure that we be returning renting cabins until a seasonal site opens for our travel trailer.
(...more...)

lawman
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 05/23/2017
A+
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
camping
0 % of users found this review helpful
one of the best times
(...more...)

fado
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 05/22/2017
A+
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
Best camp ground we have found
0 % of users found this review helpful
This is one of the most classy camp grounds we have been too, Out of about 15 camp grounds in PA keep up the great work Buttonwood GREAT JOB
(...more...)

Mike
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 04/24/2017
A+
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
One of our favorite campgrounds
0 % of users found this review helpful
We have been camping several years and Buttonwood is one of our favorite campgrounds. The staff is always friendly and accommodating, there are plenty of activities, love kayaking in the river, our pets enjoy seeing the other pets, and we attend Port Royal Speedway on Saturday evenings. We always enjoy our trips to Buttonwood.
(...more...)

ARW59
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 04/13/2017

1234