Fish Lake Beach Resort

32223 N Highway 12
Volo, IL 60073

(847) 546-2228

  •      
D+
Not Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
Sardines
0 % of users found this review helpful
Your packed in like sardines, extremely loud and a lot of partying. No enforcement on noise and it says two cars to a site (a site where one vehicle barely fits). Our neighbors had 4 cars one parked in our only spot and the other was so close to my lawn chair by the fire, I could have used the hood as my table. We have stayed at many campgrounds, this is not my cup of tea.
(...more...)
Management Response
We're very sorry to read about your disappointing experience. We are a family campground and as such we reinforce quiet hours when we understand they are not being respected. We urge campers to call security at any time during their visit if other campers do not respect quiet hours, or any other rules we publish, including the encroachment of any camper on another campers site. Separately, if you are looking for a very quiet camping experience the state parks might offer a better match for you and your family. You are very welcome to come back to Fish Lake Beach if you're ever in the area. Thank you for your valuable feedback.
(...more...)

SurveyAnswerTextNull
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 09/08/2017
B-
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
Lots to Do, Nice People, Pretty Noisy
0 % of users found this review helpful
We enjoyed Fish Lake for the most part. I prefer wooded campsites that provide some privacy from neighbors, Fish Lake has many open sites packed tightly together. Very little privacy. However, if you want a friendly place with people looking to make friends:this is the campground for you. Everyone was very kind and welcoming (except a few people who wouldn't move to the side of the road for car traffic-rude). Everything was clean and tidy, the playgrounds are great, showers are awesome, activities fun, lake is great. This is a kid friendly and dog friendly place, so if you are looking for a quiet place, this is NOT the campground for you. Everyone tried to be courteous during the quiet hours, but cars drive around on the gravel all night long. I usually do not have trouble sleeping while camping, I did here the first night. Also they do Karaoke at the pavilion on Saturday until almost 11, so if you have little ones don't camp by the pavilion, like we did.
(...more...)
Management Response
Thank you for your constructive and complimentary review. We have a lively, family friendly atmosphere. State parks offer wooded sites and a quiet experience. Please come back soon! Thank you again!
(...more...)

Wonderlil
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 08/29/2017
B-
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
Pool
0 % of users found this review helpful
I have been here before and love the beach and park for the kids. I was disappointed to find out that all the kids were not allowed in the big pool due to the fact that they were not all potty trained. They were all wearing swim diapers and I have never had this issue anywhere else. As I understand why that rule is in place, I was still not happy as there was nothing posted anywhere saying so. There is a pool for little kids but it was colder than the big pool.
(...more...)
Management Response
Thank you for your B rating and feedback about Fish Lake Beach. We're happy to know that you love our beach and park for your kids! You're right-for health reasons-no swim diapers are permitted in the large pool and children must be potty trained to use the large pool. Our Campers Only pool rules are published in the Weekly Newsletter, handed out at check-in and posted at the pool.
(...more...)

C613
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 08/29/2017
B+
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
Always A Welcoming Feel
0 % of users found this review helpful
We visited on weekend of 08/18/2017, last time we had visited prior to this was over a year ago. Alot has changed they seem to be moving in the direction Tentfree camping as they now have limited tent sites, We stayed in a popup but the grounds seemed to be overcrowded. Bathrooms near the pavilion have always been messy and outdated but this weekend was exceptionally bad, I think they require a bit more maintenance or upkeep. The staff is and has always been very friendly and go beyond their duties to make you feel appreciated and welcomed. The grounds are clean and the seasonal guest are friendly and polite. Will definitely be back soon.
(...more...)

El Camp-E-Tan
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 08/23/2017
B-
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
Different...Very
0 % of users found this review helpful
The first thing I noticed is that all the campsites are so very close to one another. The second thing I noticed is that the number of spaces made available for tent campers is very small. The ratio of tent to campers must be 1:8 for the overnight area. I felt like I was on a bivouac in a trailer park. We were so close to one another that when most everyone had retired for the night, I could hear snorts and toots from my neighbors. I was also so close to the road that headlamps could shine brightly inside the tent. Unfortunately, a big fight broke out next me...some family squabble over something. Required a visit from security and then one from the Sheriff. Despite all of this, I still had fun. I liked fishing on their small lake and watching everyone have fun on the beach. I wouldn't recommend this place, but I wouldn't discourage anyone from going here if this is what they like.
(...more...)
Management Response
We're glad you had a good time fishing on our lake and enjoyed our beach. Incidents like you describe are very few and far between. When they do we respond and manage them swiftly and strictly for the safety of our guests. We regret that it occurred during your stay. While we'd like to have you back at Fish Lake Beach there are nearby state parks that might give you the tent space you prefer. Thank you very much for your valuable feedback.
(...more...)

Rowho3
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 08/23/2017
A
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
Last minute
0 % of users found this review helpful
We were lucky that someone canceled just as we were trying to make a reservation. Nice place, very shaded. Lots are a tad small, but level. Plenty of activities for the kiddos
(...more...)
Management Response
Wonderful! We're so glad to hear that you were able to secure a booking with us this season. Thank you for your A rating, feedback and compliments. Come back soon!
(...more...)

GHNut
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 08/17/2017
A+
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
We will be back!
0 % of users found this review helpful
Service and location were great. Unique park.
(...more...)
Management Response
Thank you for your review. We're very happy to know that you liked the location and service. Come back again soon.
(...more...)

T and D
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 08/16/2017
B+
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
virgin territory
0 % of users found this review helpful
Great sites, but poor showers.
(...more...)

T@Bman
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 08/14/2017
B+
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
rainy good time!
0 % of users found this review helpful
Except for a little bit of a grumpy guy at the entrance post, the staff was excellent and always helpful. Even though we camped on a rainy weekend we still had a great time. We really enjoyed the pool (when it wasn't raining). It was nice to get into water that was not a cold shock! We thought the campground went above & beyond when they drove around at dusk spraying for mosquitoes.
(...more...)

WIcamper
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 08/14/2017
A+
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
Great camping
0 % of users found this review helpful
We arrived and were escorted to our site by the staff. Our site was clean and easy to settle into. The staff addressed our questions and gave us information about the events at the park as well as other attractions in the area. Despite the rain, we still had a great time and look forward to coming back to Fish Lake Beach next time we are in Illinois.
(...more...)
Management Response
It's so nice to read that you had a great experience at Fish Lake Beach, even though the weather was less than favorable. We're so happy to hear that our staff were gracious hosts during your visit. Come back!
(...more...)

bnt
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 08/10/2017