High Plains Camping

462 US Highway 83
Oakley, KS 67748

(888) 446-3507

(785) 672-3538

Description

Open year round and surrounded by the plains of northwest Kansas, Oakley's High Plains Camping, with easy access from I-70, US 40 or US 83, is the perfect base from which to discover the historic west. Our easy to use online reservations system will help plan your trip, and save one of the many available long pull-thru RV sites with full hookups or primitive tent areas for you. The Sunflower Barn is a popular place for guests to hang out, and contains a large meeting space for up to 100 people -- perfect or rallies, family reunions and socials, and don't forget about the hot tub, yours to reserve for an uninterrupted soak. Free wireless internet access from the comfort of your site.

A playground, 18-hole mini-golf course and a cooling Spray Zone for those hot summer months will satisfy the entire family, while a camp store, travel facility and clean, climate controlled restrooms and showers gives High Plains Camping guests all the conveniences of home. The town of Oakley is a treasure trove of western history, perhaps most famous for being the birthplace of the legend of Buffalo Bill Cody. A larger than life sculpture of Buffalo Bill hunting a buffalo is on display for all to see.

A visit to the Fick Fossil and History Museum informs visitors of the fossil-rich chalk layers of western Kansas, and presents many of them in the museum\'s exhibits. The Monument Rocks, also known as the Chalk Pyramids, are recognized by the National Park Service as a National Natural Landmark. These unique \'badlands\' were formed by the constant flow of the Smoky Hill River and are a worthwhile visit during any stay at comfortable, family-friendly High Plains Camping.

65 Total Sites

49 Pull Thru Sites

12 Sites with 20 Amp

50 Sites with 30 Amp

30 Sites with 50 Amp

120' Max RV Length

Directions:    The park is in northwest Kansas along I-70, ocated at the intersection of Interstate 70 and US Highway 83, in Thomas County Kansas.

Many locators will misplace the park by 20 miles. Be sure to head to the SW corner of I-70 and US-83.

Additional Info:    Courtesy of Camping.com

Amenities

Onsite

Nearby

  • Gas
  • Lodging - Other
  • Repair Services
  • Rural Setting

Recreation

Nearby

  • Biking - Road
  • Golfing
  • Hunting
  • Scenic Driving
  • Sightseeing

Recent Reviews

  •      
  • More Reviews

B+
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
Single night stop-over
0 % of users found this review helpful
Very convenient on I-70. Great restaurant on site (Capt Jack's). Pool, small hot tub. Small store in Office. Friendly owners. Could use a better mowing, but utilities and sites very nice, some gravel, some grass. Would use this campground again to break up long drive.
(...more...)
courtesy of camping.com

gkharris
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 07/22/2014
F
Not Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
Awful
0 % of users found this review helpful
After traveling the United States and visiting 14 campgrounds, this was the worst. Campsite some awful, it faced a rundown truck. Quoted prices in restaurant to swap fries for onion rings when ordering a sandwich, of .50 to .75. Charged $4.75. When we complained we overheard the waitress tell the owner she didn't say that. He looked around at us really disgusted like we were the liars. Food was just edible. Their son, who is the cook, is a jerk. Told us he would take the waitress behind the barn and straighten her out. Only reduced the greasy onion rings to $3.00. Wow! Worst part my granddaughter got a huge splinter in her foot from the decking around the pool. It was so deep, we could not remove it. We had to take her to the e.r. where they had to cut her foot open to get it out. My husband had been to the office to inquire about a hospital and tell them what happened and was given directions. Amazingly the lady who is the owners wife was in the restaurant when we ate and did not even bother to inquire about my granddaughters foot. No wonder they make you sign a waiver to swim.
(...more...)
courtesy of camping.com
Management Response
We do strive to keep everyone happy all the time, and it is a tough job. We remember you well. By the way, it is harvest season in the mid-west, and that truck belongs to one of the harvesters that stays here every year. Harvesters are some of the hardest working, salt of the earth, God fearing folks we have ever met. I will be sure to tell him you didn't like his truck. At the restaurant we gave you a discount plus a $5 off coupon..you were still not happy. As far as my son taking the waitress behind the barn to "straighten her out"; well she is his fiance, and he was joking with you. Guess that was lost on you? Oh, it was also her first day as a waitress there.We'll make sure she is perfect from now on. My wife did help you out with the splinter your grand daughter had; seemed you were grateful for that,But maybe not. We have about 6,000 people come through our park every year. 99.9% of them are great. Once in awhile, we get someone that no matter what, they are hell bent on being miserable, and making others around them miserable. We have talked before about starting a website for campground owners to post reviews on campers. Your visit has prompted us to do so. It would be nice to have a warning from other campground owners about campers that were problems... Know what I mean? Jim DesRoches, Owner High Plains RV Resort
(...more...)

Nana
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 07/17/2014
B+
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
camping good - restaurant not good.
0 % of users found this review helpful
The camoing met all of our expectations. The invite to the Cap,N Jacks Pub led to a very unacceptable experience. The food and refreshments were good but splitting a billing for 6 couples was a nightmare. All were charged excessively after we reviewed the next day by comparing all six bills. As we asked for separate checks were told the new system was not capable, but the splitting was being done automatically. When we reviewed and saw 29% for most of the items being charged, we realized that 1/6 was 16.6%. What an expensive lesson never to be repeated. Hope the restaurant gets to the 21st century billing soon before all cutomers give up on the experience.
(...more...)
courtesy of camping.com
Management Response
Well,we are glad you liked our food. Yes, that was the second day for our new Point of Sale system at the pub and it was a nightmare for us! The system is in beta testing and we are one of the restaurants that "gets" to test it. The company that makes it has fixed most of the glitches now, and it is operating smoothly. Next time you are here, let us know when you check in, and the meal is on us! Thanks again, Jim DesRoches, Owner, High Plains RV Resort and Cap'n Jack's Pub
(...more...)

Rver
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 06/30/2014
C
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
Once Upon A Time
0 % of users found this review helpful
At one time, before all the trees were cut down, this campground might have been something. As it is, it is just an overnight place to sleep, and not a destination. Unlevel site, okay cable, iffy wifi. Most of the sites seemed occupied by nomadic construction workers on a long term basis. Good thing paperwork was handled efficiently since we showed up late and no one was there early when we left.
(...more...)
courtesy of camping.com
Management Response
Thanks for your review. We didn't cut down the trees because we wanted to. Most of Kansas has been in a severe drought for almost 4 years now. Sadly, the beautiful trees were victims of the drought. In the past six weeks, we have actually had more rain than we have had in three years, and we are starting to replant new trees. You were here during harvest season, and yes, we did have a park full of harvesters. It is an annual occurrence for most RV parks throughout the mid-west during harvest season. These are the people that put bread on our tables, literally, and we are thankful for them. Thanks again for your review, we will strive to do better. Jim DesRoches, Owner, High Plains RV Resort
(...more...)

Milton
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 06/28/2014