Description

Open year round and surrounded by the plains of northwest Kansas, Oakley's High Plains Camping, with easy access from I-70, US 40 or US 83, is the perfect base from which to discover the historic west. Our easy to use online reservations system will help plan your trip, and save one of the many available long pull-thru RV sites with full hookups or primitive tent areas for you. The Sunflower Barn is a popular place for guests to hang out, and contains a large meeting space for up to 100 people -- perfect or rallies, family reunions and socials, and don't forget about the hot tub, yours to reserve for an uninterrupted soak. Free wireless internet access from the comfort of your site.

A playground, 18-hole mini-golf course and a cooling Spray Zone for those hot summer months will satisfy the entire family, while a camp store, travel facility and clean, climate controlled restrooms and showers gives High Plains Camping guests all the conveniences of home. The town of Oakley is a treasure trove of western history, perhaps most famous for being the birthplace of the legend of Buffalo Bill Cody. A larger than life sculpture of Buffalo Bill hunting a buffalo is on display for all to see.

A visit to the Fick Fossil and History Museum informs visitors of the fossil-rich chalk layers of western Kansas, and presents many of them in the museum\'s exhibits. The Monument Rocks, also known as the Chalk Pyramids, are recognized by the National Park Service as a National Natural Landmark. These unique \'badlands\' were formed by the constant flow of the Smoky Hill River and are a worthwhile visit during any stay at comfortable, family-friendly High Plains Camping.

65 Total Sites

49 Pull Thru Sites

12 Sites width 20 Amp

50 Sites width 30 Amp

30 Sites width 50 Amp

120' Max RV Length

Directions:    The park is in northwest Kansas along I-70, ocated at the intersection of Interstate 70 and US Highway 83, in Thomas County Kansas.

Many locators will misplace the park by 20 miles. Be sure to head to the SW corner of I-70 and US-83.

Additional Info:    Courtesy of Camping.com

Amenities

Onsite

Nearby

  • Gas
  • Lodging - Other
  • Repair Services
  • Rural Setting

Recreation

Nearby

  • Biking - Road
  • Golfing
  • Hunting
  • Scenic Driving
  • Sightseeing

Recent Reviews

  •      
  • More Reviews

B+
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
Burrs
0 % of users found this review helpful
Owners are great. Food was excellent. However, if you are traveling with a dog (we were there in November), there are burrs everywhere, gravel, grass, and dog run. The owners have been working to fix this problem, but it is frustrating for dog owners not to have a place to walk their dog.
(...more...)

B123
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 11/16/2016
F
Not Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
Dump
0 % of users found this review helpful
This campground is a dump. The host is poor. The service is poor. The facility is poor. The access road is poor. The utility connection was extremely poor and not properly located. The only positive is that the site was level and the gas station across the street is easy to use by a large RV. I would suggest others look for an alternate campground that will offer a better experience.
(...more...)
Management Response
Well Bob, you truly are the type of camper that campground owners dread. From the moment you walked through the door, your bad attitude shined through to the entire staff. You were unhappy with the fact that we are a non smoking park even though you told us you knew in advance about our policy. We offered to tell you where other campgrounds were but you were content to wallow in your misery. We explained the correct method to postion your RV in your site, but you seemed to want to do it your way, so of course the utility connections didn't match up. Then we had to talk to you about letting your dog run freely around the park ( 2 campers complained to us about it) and asked you to pick up after your dog, which you did not do. You also left trash on your site when you left. Classy. We were glad to see you go. So, I too have a recommendation, but mine is for other campground owners. Please watch out for this guy. You do not want him at your campground. Bob, we have hundreds of happy campers every year. They come here and have fun, and leave happy. Once in awhile we have a miserable one that is never happy. Please stay away. J DesRoches owner
(...more...)

Bob
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 10/01/2016
D
Not Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
One of the worst parks we've stayed in
0 % of users found this review helpful
The driveway into and out of the park was so bad, we had to drive extremely slow so as not to knock everything off the shelves in our 42' motor home. The pictures of the park on the internet were totally wrong in their representation of the park. We couldn't believe the park we pulled into was the same one we saw on line. During check-in the woman at the counter was very rude and abrupt. When explaining the rules to us she kept referring to "her" property (i.e., my sewer system, my bathrooms, my water, etc.). The signage in the park is very confusing and when we made a wrong turn she could not have been more rude as to how we could get our RV turned into our assigned spot. We set up, and only left the coach to walk the dog. We were glad to leave in the morning, once we got through the rough driveway!
(...more...)
Management Response
First off the driveway is not ours. It belongs to the Restaurant in front of us and the 18 wheel trucks do that damage. I am concise as I explain the do's and don'ts of staying in our park as to minimize the damage people do to things they don't care about as it is not theirs. As for our signage IF people read and follow the directions that I give them and draw out for them upon check in there is no problem with getting to a site as, hundreds of campers do every year. But then again there are those who say we have too many signs. As for stopping you when you were going the wrong way after not following the map I saved you from having to unhook your tow if you would have gone much further as you were heading for a dead end. J DesRoches Owner
(...more...)

Storm's mom
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 08/08/2016
F
Not Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
Lousy Host
0 % of users found this review helpful
I've never met a such an insulting host of a campground. It was almost as though she didn't want to be there or do her job. Insulting, rude, aggressive, abrupt, unwelcoming. It was horrid to talk to this woman.
(...more...)
Management Response
I'm sorry you found my demeanor unpleasant. But since I specifically kept notes in regards to your visit I know exactly who you are. You came to me from Tent 4 Troops a very nice group for the most part. You received your FHU site for $20 as was my arrangement with the group. You got upset with me because you had to call as I was out of the office mowing. I came as swiftly a the tractor would go. You had your dog with you and proceeded to try and bring him into the office. This area is off limits to pet as food is prepared in the pizza kitchen. When I told you he wasn't allowed you told me he was a service animal. I asked you the two questions I am allowed by law to ask to determine if he actually was. It turned out that he wasn't a service animal. You got mad that you had to put him in the car. I proceeded to check you in and get you settled even though you were very rude to me and got even more upset with me when you asked if you could take your dog in our pub and pool area. I'm sorry if my rules upset you but after my experience with you I contacted Tent 4 Troops and told them of this experience and I no longer wanted to be a tent 4 troops park. J DesRoches owner
(...more...)

MPP
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 06/06/2016