Description

Open year round and surrounded by the plains of northwest Kansas, Oakley's High Plains Camping, with easy access from I-70, US 40 or US 83, is the perfect base from which to discover the historic west. Our easy to use online reservations system will help plan your trip, and save one of the many available long pull-thru RV sites with full hookups or primitive tent areas for you. The Sunflower Barn is a popular place for guests to hang out, and contains a large meeting space for up to 100 people -- perfect or rallies, family reunions and socials, and don't forget about the hot tub, yours to reserve for an uninterrupted soak. Free wireless internet access from the comfort of your site.

A playground, 18-hole mini-golf course and a cooling Spray Zone for those hot summer months will satisfy the entire family, while a camp store, travel facility and clean, climate controlled restrooms and showers gives High Plains Camping guests all the conveniences of home. The town of Oakley is a treasure trove of western history, perhaps most famous for being the birthplace of the legend of Buffalo Bill Cody. A larger than life sculpture of Buffalo Bill hunting a buffalo is on display for all to see.

A visit to the Fick Fossil and History Museum informs visitors of the fossil-rich chalk layers of western Kansas, and presents many of them in the museum\'s exhibits. The Monument Rocks, also known as the Chalk Pyramids, are recognized by the National Park Service as a National Natural Landmark. These unique \'badlands\' were formed by the constant flow of the Smoky Hill River and are a worthwhile visit during any stay at comfortable, family-friendly High Plains Camping.

65 Total Sites

49 Pull Thru Sites

12 Sites width 20 Amp

50 Sites width 30 Amp

30 Sites width 50 Amp

120' Max RV Length

Directions:    The park is in northwest Kansas along I-70, ocated at the intersection of Interstate 70 and US Highway 83, in Thomas County Kansas.

Many locators will misplace the park by 20 miles. Be sure to head to the SW corner of I-70 and US-83.

Additional Info:    Courtesy of Camping.com

Amenities

Onsite

Nearby

  • Gas
  • Lodging - Other
  • Repair Services
  • Rural Setting

Recreation

Nearby

  • Biking - Road
  • Golfing
  • Hunting
  • Scenic Driving
  • Sightseeing

Recent Reviews

  •      
  • More Reviews

F
Not Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
Sucks
0 % of users found this review helpful
All I wanted was to park my RV on a small fucking patch of dirt at the campground and they wanted $40 . I didn't need no hookups or nothing just a piece of goddamn dirt . 40 bucks you can shove that right up your ass
(...more...)
courtesy of Camping.com

Indigenous
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 07/03/2017
B
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
Overnight Stay
0 % of users found this review helpful
We stopped heremovernight. The lady in the office was very pleasant and we found our campsite,easily. It was just long enough to stay hooked up for our overnight stay. The campsite was basic gravel as were the interior roads. There was excellent lighting near our campsite. We ordered baby back ribs from Jac's Pub and although they were brought to our trailer and were hot, they were not baby back Rob's but large ribs and not very tender. It was an good place for us to stop,overnight.
(...more...)

Kiwi
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 04/28/2017
B+
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
Burrs
0 % of users found this review helpful
Owners are great. Food was excellent. However, if you are traveling with a dog (we were there in November), there are burrs everywhere, gravel, grass, and dog run. The owners have been working to fix this problem, but it is frustrating for dog owners not to have a place to walk their dog.
(...more...)

B123
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 11/16/2016
F
Not Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
Dump
0 % of users found this review helpful
This campground is a dump. The host is poor. The service is poor. The facility is poor. The access road is poor. The utility connection was extremely poor and not properly located. The only positive is that the site was level and the gas station across the street is easy to use by a large RV. I would suggest others look for an alternate campground that will offer a better experience.
(...more...)
Management Response
Well Bob, you truly are the type of camper that campground owners dread. From the moment you walked through the door, your bad attitude shined through to the entire staff. You were unhappy with the fact that we are a non smoking park even though you told us you knew in advance about our policy. We offered to tell you where other campgrounds were but you were content to wallow in your misery. We explained the correct method to postion your RV in your site, but you seemed to want to do it your way, so of course the utility connections didn't match up. Then we had to talk to you about letting your dog run freely around the park ( 2 campers complained to us about it) and asked you to pick up after your dog, which you did not do. You also left trash on your site when you left. Classy. We were glad to see you go. So, I too have a recommendation, but mine is for other campground owners. Please watch out for this guy. You do not want him at your campground. Bob, we have hundreds of happy campers every year. They come here and have fun, and leave happy. Once in awhile we have a miserable one that is never happy. Please stay away. J DesRoches owner
(...more...)

Bob
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 10/01/2016