Rancho Los Coches RV Park

13468 Hwy. 8 Business
Lakeside, CA 92040

(800) 630-0448

(619) 443-2025

  •      
A+
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
Notes for Cyclists
0 % of users found this review helpful
(If you are in an RV, much of this won't apply to you.) If you are biking the Southern Tier, this is a good stop for the night - one conservative days' ride from SD. Price is much less than a motel, and slightly more than most pure tent campgrounds. Get your meals before entering. Only snacks and soda are sold in the park, and it's half a mile to the nearest food outside. It's a river site, so the ground is hard-packed sand, and absolutely level. Not as comfortable as forest leaf-litter, and don't expect to scoop out hollows for your shoulders and hips under the tent, if that's your practice. No gophers, squirrels, raccoons, or other food-stealing varmints seen. The tent sites are shaded from sun by trees and a rain-sheltered picnic table at each site. That means it should be cool on a hot day, but also that the site will still be wet if there has been recent precipitation. There is a light on the picnic table that stays lit all night - a plus if you are doing work, minus if light bothers you (doesn't affect me). The entire park is lit like a suburb, and you will not need a flashlight to get to the bathroom in the dark. There are two outlets at each picnic table where you can plug in your laptop or recharge your phone. There is wi-fi at decent speed. Possibly there is a charge for it - but I was not charged. Bathroom with hot showers about 200 steps from the tent sites. Don't forget your bathroom key, they are locked. Water spigot at every tent site. BBQ grill with a flat area, good for setting up your camp stove if you cook. Wind was nil to zero. You will not need to stake your tent. Staff was friendly. Frogs were singing loudly all night - a plus for me, might be a minus for some. There was no one in the rec room or pool when I was there in early May. Your best chance for visiting with locals may be the laundry room.
(...more...)

Roderick
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 05/10/2017
A+
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
What a great find!
0 % of users found this review helpful
Rancho los Coches was the only park available for our dates. I really hate to give them such good reviews because it is a hidden gem but we probably won't be back for awhile. Not because of the park, but because of our trip plans. Driving I8 toward San Diego, you can see some of the unnamed-here RV parks from the freeway...right next to the freeway. RLC is back off the highway and lots of trees. 3 or 4 levels depending on your rig. If we do come back this way, we will definitely request this park. We had a 42' Class A towing and had more than enough room to park.
(...more...)

Bob 'n Sue from Orlando FL
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 04/13/2017
A+
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
Outstanding
0 % of users found this review helpful
This was our 5th year at this park. There has to be a reason for us to keep coming back. Rancho Los Coches is friendly, well maintained very quiet and easy to get anywhere from the park. Easy access to the Interstate and short drives to surrounding towns. We spend an average of 6 to 8 weeks in San Diego and have not found a more pleasant place to stay.
(...more...)

CB, Iowa
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 03/09/2017
A+
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
Very nice surprise
0 % of users found this review helpful
Really wasn't expecting much but RLC RV Park turned out to be a wonderful surprise. It's the cleanest RV park I've come across with very interesting grounds and beautifully maintained facilities. The entire experience -- making the reservation, check in, four day stay, and check out -- was as good as it gets. The staff was friendly and helpful (truly nice folks) and the RV site itself was the cleanest I've ever seen. The utilities -- water, electric, and sewer -- were smartly arranged and CLEAN (no leaky valves or spidery J-boxes!). Los Coches will be the yard stick against which I'll measure all RV parks going forward.
(...more...)

RoadTreker
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 02/17/2017
A+
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
6 weeks in SD
0 % of users found this review helpful
We stayed at Rancho Los Coches RV Park for 6 weeks in our 5th wheel and had a fine time. We appreciated the well maintained exercise room and the game room (although the equipment was in need of fixing). All the staff was helpful and friendly. The only problem was with the propane delivery system. We tried to use it twice, but no propane was delivered. This was not a major issue since there was a propane dealer just up the road.
(...more...)

Roady
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 02/14/2017
A+
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
Park near San Diego
0 % of users found this review helpful
Nice park. Great staff. Very quiet
(...more...)

rv traveler
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 02/13/2017
A+
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
Vist to Shadow Mountain Community Church
0 % of users found this review helpful
My wife and I wanted to find an RV park near Shadow Community Church in El Cajon. After reading the reviews of several parks I chose Rancho Los Coches RV Park. What a great decision. The staff was extremely friendly and our site was truly outstanding. One of the best RV parks we have stayed at. Close to everything we wanted to do. If we had gone into San Diego it would have been equally convenient. Will stay there again next time we go to the San Diego area.
(...more...)

Retireandlovingit
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 12/26/2016
A+
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
Excelent
67 % of users found this review helpful
I stayed over Labor Day weekend 2016. I was in San Diego for kids hockey. I was met by two very nice ladies at the counter when I checked in. The had two spots left and directed us to the space we rented. It was one of the largest back in spaces I have ever been in.I had no issues parking a 37 foot motorhome in it. The space also had ample room for our tow vehicle. The hookups were easy to use and well maintained. The park was clean and appeared to be a safe location. Unfortunately our stay had to be cut short. The staff agreed to refund 3 of our four night stay and the check was in my mail box when I returned home. Excellent park with first class service. I would stay at this park again and would recommend it to a friend.
(...more...)

BradJ
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 09/12/2016
B-
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
Lots of Ants
100 % of users found this review helpful
In August, 2016, 4 nite visit turned nasty on the 3rd nite, when the RV was invaded by ants. Bought Raid, sprayed everywhere, and they returned the next nite AGAIN. When I informed the manager the next day, they said they new they had an ant problem, especially in the site THEY HAD ASSIGNED US! I was very angry no notice was given when we arrived, nor allowance given when I complained. Nice park, but would not stay there again.
(...more...)

Mr. RV
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 08/12/2016
A+
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
San Diego visit
100 % of users found this review helpful
We loved this park. Office personnel was helpful and friendly. We would definitely recommend this park to everyone.
(...more...)

jimbarb
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 07/10/2015