Smugglers Den Campground

20 Main Street Route 102
Southwest Harbor, ME 04679

(877) 244-9033

(207) 244-3944

  •      
A+
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
Great stay and people
0 % of users found this review helpful
Even though campground personnel were at the end of their season and probably waiting to close out the season, they were very friendly and accommodating when I asked to extend my stay an extra night. I did have to move, but they were very flexible in making it as "painless" as possible. They were also very helpful in finding another campground, that was open year round, at my next destination near Boston. I would definitely stay again and recommend it.
(...more...)

Tom
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 11/14/2016
A+
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
MDI in October
0 % of users found this review helpful
We had a great stay at Smuggler's Den, Southwest Harbor in October 2016. Weather was great, autumn colors were phenomenal. Staying in this location put us central to Mount Desert Island activities and Acadia National Park. Food market just a short distance away. Staff were pleasant and very helpful (especially Todd). Laundry facilities were clean and convenient. Campground is very well maintained. We loved Cafe Drydock & Inn in Southwest Harbor - it was very relaxing and cozy with great food. Wednesday nights they have live entertainment in season - we had a great time during the season's last performance. Campground is close to Seawall picnic area, Thurston's Lobster Pound in Bernard, Bass Harbor Headlight, and many hiking trails. We could see our camper on Site 90 from the Fire Tower on Beech Mountain. We would recommend this campground to others and plan to come again.
(...more...)

T&T
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 10/28/2016
A+
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
Great campground
0 % of users found this review helpful
We stayed in one of the Deluxe cabins and it was very nice. It had exceeded our expectations and our time there was enjoyed. Great job.
(...more...)

SurveyAnswerTextNull
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 10/27/2016
A+
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
Can't wait to return!
0 % of users found this review helpful
We stayed at Smugglers Den to visit Acadia as well as participate in the Mount Desert Island Marathon. It is minutes from the charming small village of Southwest Harbor. Easy access to all of MDI and Acadia's trails. Staff was friendly and helpful. Large open spaces on property to walk dog. We look forward to returning next year!
(...more...)

thegrahams
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 10/27/2016
A+
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
1st camping trip
0 % of users found this review helpful
This was our 1st camping experience. Great campground for our first time. Traveling the New England states for the fall color. One of the few campgrounds that are open til the end of October. Friendly and helpful people. Clean restrooms and nice hot showers. Highly recommend it.
(...more...)

Cruiser
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 10/22/2016
A+
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
Perfect place to stay
0 % of users found this review helpful
This was our first visit to Acadia. Campground was a perfect base for exploring the island. Staff went out of their way to assist us with a tire issue. Beautiful setting. We highly recommend the campground. 5 stars.
(...more...)

Excursion2013
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 10/22/2016
A+
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
Very convenient campground
0 % of users found this review helpful
It was really handy to get to Acadia NP by camping right on the island at Smugglers Den. There was also free shuttle bus service to popular sites in Acadia. We were adjacent to hiking trails that connected to NP hiking trails. We were close to Long Pond for kayaking. Because it was October the camp office was open limited hours, but that wasn't much of a problem. I would recommend this campground.
(...more...)

Michigan Grandma
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 10/21/2016
B
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
Our camping experience
0 % of users found this review helpful
We really loved the beauty of the campground and the very friendly staff, but were very disappointed with the bath house facilities. They were not heated at all....and the roof skylight was open thus allowing no heat to even build up and it was in the 30-40's at night. The glass pieces in the door window were broken and missing leaving a gaping opening the the door...thus more cold air rushing in... thus making showering or using the restroom a VERY unpleasant experience. All our campsite was extremely unlevel and even after doing everything we could our camper rocked the entire time we were there. And one more word of advice...it would be wonderful if the porta pottie guys did not come at 7am to clean out the things waking everyone up for quite a length of time. Would we come back? Yes, if the bath house situation was remedied and we get a better level campsite. As said the camppground is lovely, staff is great...just need to do a few things to make it an EXCELLENT experience.
(...more...)

Gayle Weeks
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 10/18/2016
A+
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
Acadia
0 % of users found this review helpful
My husband and I and our daughter and son-in-law spent two nights and was very pleased with the cleanliness and the accommodations. It was one of the nicest parks we stayed in on our trip. Very quiet also. Nice laundry facility and bath house, well maintained. Would definetly stay there again if in the area.
(...more...)

SLK
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 10/15/2016
B-
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
Neighboring tent occupants too noisy. Had firecrackers and alcohol
0 % of users found this review helpful
The facility itself is nice and the office crew are friendly and helpful. The only issue I had was with the people in a site close to me. The second they got out of their car I knew it was going to be A long night. And it was. I actually packed up my tent and slept in my vehicle because they were so loud. At some point - we after 10pm they started putting firecrackers of some sort into the fire they built. Not sure if that's an actual product that can be purchased or if they literally three firecrackers into the fire. I didn't get sleep which was a shame since I was leaving for New Hampshire the next morning. It's only a four hour drive and I kept nodding off and had to get a hotel room. I never made it out of Maine that day. So, the facility is nice, the staff is nice, but I won't chance being that close to another camping sight again. I camped from Tennessee to Maine and that was the first time I was not able to get any sleep because of other campers. Sorry, nice place but probably will never return
(...more...)

johnnybgoode
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 10/15/2016