• Reviews
  • PARK REVIEWS

    A minusOverall Rating
    06/29/2018

    Nice break for newbies!

    My wife and I are recently retired and new to RV'ing. We had been right out straight between equipping and getting comfortable with our new Class A puller while making a household move and preparing for a cross country trek to see our new grandchildren back in Maine. What we needed was some rest and recuperation in a nice and quiet setting not too far from town. That's exactly what we found at Los Coches RV Park. The property is well kept and organized, and staffed by friendly and helpful folks that truly seemed happy to have us as guests for a few nights. I didn't see any sites that we would not have enjoyed staying in and the back-in spot that we had was of a nice size with no overhanging trees or other obstacles. All of the services were available and more than adequate and my wife liked the clean and affordable laundry. If there is anything less than stellar at Los Coches, it might be that our satellite signal was weakened by the nearby foothills, but that just made me rely on the King Jack for HD broadcast stations which came in fine - and cable was available if I wanted to hook it up. We will stay there again without question and wish to thank the folks there for making one of our first stays in our new motorhome a winner! Recon 11
    (more...)

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    08/23/2017

    Home

    Wonderful place, in fact we would say best in class. Lot sizes are great, staff wonderful, amenities very comparable to anywhere. I wanted to give them an F because the less people that know about this place the better for us. But that would have been terribly unfair to Los Coaches
    (more...)

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    05/10/2017

    Notes for Cyclists

    (If you are in an RV, much of this won't apply to you.) If you are biking the Southern Tier, this is a good stop for the night - one conservative days' ride from SD. Price is much less than a motel, and slightly more than most pure tent campgrounds. Get your meals before entering. Only snacks and soda are sold in the park, and it's half a mile to the nearest food outside. It's a river site, so the ground is hard-packed sand, and absolutely level. Not as comfortable as forest leaf-litter, and don't expect to scoop out hollows for your shoulders and hips under the tent, if that's your practice. No gophers, squirrels, raccoons, or other food-stealing varmints seen. The tent sites are shaded from sun by trees and a rain-sheltered picnic table at each site. That means it should be cool on a hot day, but also that the site will still be wet if there has been recent precipitation. There is a light on the picnic table that stays lit all night - a plus if you are doing work, minus if light bothers you (doesn't affect me). The entire park is lit like a suburb, and you will not need a flashlight to get to the bathroom in the dark. There are two outlets at each picnic table where you can plug in your laptop or recharge your phone. There is wi-fi at decent speed. Possibly there is a charge for it - but I was not charged. Bathroom with hot showers about 200 steps from the tent sites. Don't forget your bathroom key, they are locked. Water spigot at every tent site. BBQ grill with a flat area, good for setting up your camp stove if you cook. Wind was nil to zero. You will not need to stake your tent. Staff was friendly. Frogs were singing loudly all night - a plus for me, might be a minus for some. There was no one in the rec room or pool when I was there in early May. Your best chance for visiting with locals may be the laundry room.
    (more...)

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    04/13/2017

    What a great find!

    Rancho los Coches was the only park available for our dates. I really hate to give them such good reviews because it is a hidden gem but we probably won't be back for awhile. Not because of the park, but because of our trip plans. Driving I8 toward San Diego, you can see some of the unnamed-here RV parks from the freeway...right next to the freeway. RLC is back off the highway and lots of trees. 3 or 4 levels depending on your rig. If we do come back this way, we will definitely request this park. We had a 42' Class A towing and had more than enough room to park.
    (more...)

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    03/09/2017

    Outstanding

    This was our 5th year at this park. There has to be a reason for us to keep coming back. Rancho Los Coches is friendly, well maintained very quiet and easy to get anywhere from the park. Easy access to the Interstate and short drives to surrounding towns. We spend an average of 6 to 8 weeks in San Diego and have not found a more pleasant place to stay.
    (more...)

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    02/17/2017

    Very nice surprise

    Really wasn't expecting much but RLC RV Park turned out to be a wonderful surprise. It's the cleanest RV park I've come across with very interesting grounds and beautifully maintained facilities. The entire experience -- making the reservation, check in, four day stay, and check out -- was as good as it gets. The staff was friendly and helpful (truly nice folks) and the RV site itself was the cleanest I've ever seen. The utilities -- water, electric, and sewer -- were smartly arranged and CLEAN (no leaky valves or spidery J-boxes!). Los Coches will be the yard stick against which I'll measure all RV parks going forward.
    (more...)

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    02/14/2017

    6 weeks in SD

    We stayed at Rancho Los Coches RV Park for 6 weeks in our 5th wheel and had a fine time. We appreciated the well maintained exercise room and the game room (although the equipment was in need of fixing). All the staff was helpful and friendly. The only problem was with the propane delivery system. We tried to use it twice, but no propane was delivered. This was not a major issue since there was a propane dealer just up the road.
    (more...)

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    02/13/2017

    Park near San Diego

    Nice park. Great staff. Very quiet
    (more...)

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    12/26/2016

    Vist to Shadow Mountain Community Church

    My wife and I wanted to find an RV park near Shadow Community Church in El Cajon. After reading the reviews of several parks I chose Rancho Los Coches RV Park. What a great decision. The staff was extremely friendly and our site was truly outstanding. One of the best RV parks we have stayed at. Close to everything we wanted to do. If we had gone into San Diego it would have been equally convenient. Will stay there again next time we go to the San Diego area.
    (more...)

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    09/12/2016

    Excelent

    I stayed over Labor Day weekend 2016. I was in San Diego for kids hockey. I was met by two very nice ladies at the counter when I checked in. The had two spots left and directed us to the space we rented. It was one of the largest back in spaces I have ever been in.I had no issues parking a 37 foot motorhome in it. The space also had ample room for our tow vehicle. The hookups were easy to use and well maintained. The park was clean and appeared to be a safe location. Unfortunately our stay had to be cut short. The staff agreed to refund 3 of our four night stay and the check was in my mail box when I returned home. Excellent park with first class service. I would stay at this park again and would recommend it to a friend.
    (more...)

    (more...)

    12

    Jump to: of 2