• Reviews
  • PARK REVIEWS

    A minusOverall Rating
    06/30/2016

    They are a master at lying and deception

    Do NOT stay here. First experience at this campground. Campground staff called us on our way to campground and told us they had a much better site for us if we wanted to move. We were pleased that they were looking out for us. WRONG. They had a couple request our spot so they moved us to the boiling sun. When we told them we did not wish to move we were told we had NO choice. We made our reservations for the holiday weekend months in advance only to be moved against our wishes. Then they lied saying I requested the new spot. Never in all our years of camping have we ever been lied to or talked to in this manner. The reviews stated they were voted best campground several years in the past. For the life of me I cannot understand why! They have us over a barrel since it is a holiday weekend and no other sites available in town. Plus, they do not give refunds. But I can assure you we will NEVER be back!
    (more...)

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    06/18/2016

    Great First Camping Experience

    We chose Big Meadow for our first RV experience, based on a friend recommendation. Perfect place for a family. Kids loved the splash pad and playground. I spent plenty of time catching trout and smallmouth at the creek. Close enough to Dollywood but far enough away from the hustle and bustle. Sites were level and everything was clean. Did I mention quiet? All other campers were polite and very kind to my children. Loved it and will definitely return. We did have to reset the 30 amp breaker a few times. This was probably due to it being over 95 degrees though. We stayed in a TT in site 49 and it was perfect for being able to watch the kids play. Definitely would recommend. Clean, safe, quiet, and entertaining. Made our first trip a great experience.
    (more...)

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    04/15/2016

    Don't stay here

    Very cramped, like Sardines in a can, no room for pets or children to play outside your camper. No fire pits at sites. Gravel sites are not level. WIFI wouldn't work. The term they use "Easy in Easy Out" is a joke. First and last visit here. Very disappointed, upset and wish I could get a refund on my second nights stay and move to another campground. Such a waste of time and money
    (more...)

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    11/13/2015

    sheer camping delight

    We found big meadows campground when the campground we had planned on staying was full. the campground staff called big meadows and they had a spot available. this was definitely our very lucky day. a wonderful place to camp at the foot of the great smoky mountains. townsend is a great little town, kind of a gateway to Gatlinburg thru the back door after a beautiful drive thru the great smokies. this is just a 2 day adventure. there is so many wonderful places to visit that a person has to have at least a week to enjoy each one. then you return to your campsite at big meadows, where you build your campfire and enjoy watching the sun go down,chatting with very pleasant neighbor campers in a very quite atmosphere. Later you enjoy your shower in a very clean rest room. if all you campers want to enjoy a lifelong camping experience then big meadows campground is for you. we have been back 5 times and wikk try for another when health improves
    (more...)

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    11/12/2015

    Crftyrvr

    Wonderful park and wonderful people. I always tell everyone this is a great park, and really close to Cades Cove. We want to go back.
    (more...)

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    09/27/2015

    Wonderful week

    We camped 9/20-9/27, 2015, met up with Friends from North Carolina, and Alabama. We get together for the "Old Timers Fall Festival", in Townsend.Big Meadow is a Great Campground, friendly, professional staff. The facilities are clean, and laid out well, the campground is laid out excellent, with large sites. In September and October bring shorts and clothes for low 80's and jeans and a light jacket, for mornings in the high 50's. We will be back, have already made reservations.
    (more...)

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    09/19/2015

    Great weekend

    We had a wonderful weekend at this campground we have stayed at the KOA other places in Townsend this was the most friendliest quietest the most enjoyable weekend we've had all summer
    (more...)

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    07/24/2015

    Summer stay

    We loved the campground and the ease of travel to other attractions around. We really loved the river in front of our campsite and being able to float from right outside our front door.
    (more...)

    (more...)