• Reviews
  • PARK REVIEWS

    A minusOverall Rating
    09/22/2018

    wet visit

    Great campground and facilities. Unfortunately we received 5-7 inches of rain. No campfires, trails, etc.
    (more...)

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    09/19/2018

    pleasant

    We camp at Big Sioux twice during the season. We like the campground and the restrooms are always clean by staff, sometimes campers can be very messy, but it doesn't last long and the staff has taken care of it. It is close to Sioux Falls and we enjoy antiquing, thrift store shopping, and going to the cheap movie theater at the mall.
    (more...)

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    09/17/2018

    Overnight Stop

    Stopped here for a couple nights on our way to Custer SP. Really pleased with our choice to spend time here. Enjoyed hiking trails in the area and Sioux Falls. Nice level pads and good size camping spots. Would come back here again.
    (more...)

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    09/12/2018

    2 night stay

    We stayed 2 night's here in early Sept 2018 in a 20' RPod. The sites are spacious, lots of room between sites, lots of trees. The bathroom has flush toilets and clean showers. Very nice campground with dump station too. Close to laundry and shopping if you need that on your travels.
    (more...)

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    09/10/2018

    Relaxing

    Never been there before, just wanted some place different. Needed somewhere close to SF because of doctor appointment. So glad we found Big Sioux! Very relaxing, great walks, fun exploring!! Want to bring the grandkids back next year!
    (more...)

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    09/07/2018

    Crash pad

    Nice campground, clean, no garbage laying around, showers hot and clean. Stopped on way Home for 1 night. Quiet and slept well. Highly recommend. Thanks
    (more...)

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    09/03/2018

    Easy life

    Great time at Big Sioux Recreation area AGAIN!
    (more...)

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    09/03/2018

    Poor rangers!

    11 pm quiet time means nothing!! We were harassed for 2 nights about being loud when we weren’t. We received a warning one night and the next day revived a final warning but another ranger. So we had a game going that night and made sure at 10:45pm we stopped playing and sat at the camp by the fire talking and 11:15 there were 2 ranger cars that flew through the park and stopped at our site. Right away asked for the guy that had the sites sat him in the car and gave him a noise violation ticket!! Complete bullshit when there was more noise of them being there then what we had made all night!! They were complaining of things that happened before 10:30 yet quiet time is 11. I flew a drone right over 1 ranger 10minutes later the same guy that gave our final warning that day said you can’t have drones on the park. Ok fine shit it off and put it away. Same guy that stopped that night yet had no memory of a final warning. They singled us out just because we were a little loud the first night. We talked to other campers that couldn’t hear us the second night as well as another group that revived 2 warnings that night yet had 5 campsites and were at the farthest one from other campers. They were beyond rude and had no answers at to where and what would happen when since they treatened to kick us out when we were all drinking and I drove 300 miles to stay there. If this is how they treat guests and have no answers then they clearly don’t need more!! I do not recommend this place to anyone that wants to have fun and not be harassed and stalked!!!!!
    (more...)
    courtesy of CampSD.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    09/03/2018

    Adam

    Will never come back to this campground! This is the worst campground; we were sighted out from the beginning! This campgound singled us out from the start and it is BS. We were playing a game of bocce ball and apparently fun is not allowed. After being threatened, we were sure to whisper. Yet...here we are with a citation for whispering! It is complete BS as we are getting different rules! We cannot have 4 wheels on the grass but others can! We cannot have fun whispering, but it is ok for a family next door to abuse their kids. Whispering is NOT allowed in this campground nor is sneezing or talking. I will NEVER step foot in Big Sioux again even though the we only camped here this weekend after my cousin’s dog passed away here 5 years ago! This campground is the worst 11 I have ever stayed at!!!!! If you want camp here, be sure you are ready for bed at 11 pm SHARP or you will be cited from these fucking ASSHOLES!!!
    (more...)
    courtesy of CampSD.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    08/30/2018

    4 week trek

    We pulled into Big Sioux after a hard day's drive during which our Tacoma's computer told us we needed to get an oil change. We'd never been there before and so got slightly askew but were delighted with the directions given by the young lady answering the phone (YES, they have actual PEOPLE answering the phone!) which had us driving in within a few minutes. When we arrived she also gave us great directions to a Walmart for an oil change! We had a great site but after walking around in the park realized that all the sites were great and the folks camped there included many locals who were very friendly and helpful. The bathrooms and showers were first class and clean as a whistle with abundant hot water and good water pressure. The river walk was shady, cool and interesting and the park at night was quiet for good sleeping. We would rate this an A-1 place to camp and very affordable.
    (more...)

    (more...)
    Jump to: of 10