• Reviews
  • PARK REVIEWS

    A minusOverall Rating
    09/19/2018

    Chief White Crane

    This our favorite place to camp. The size of the camp sites are very spacious and facilities always clean. Always a relaxing stay.
    (more...)

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    08/31/2018

    good campground

    We like the smaller campground. The restrooms and grounds were very clean. Campground host and park employees very friendly and helpful. Filling and dumping station very handy.
    (more...)

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    08/31/2018

    Needs improvement!

    Camping area is okay but the sites are far from level. There are a lot of sites that are really difficult to back a 5ht wheel trailer into due to the angle and deep ditches along the road. Bathroom facilities are far from sufficient and not well kept. Nice spot for kayaking, swimming and fishing.
    (more...)

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    08/30/2018

    Not good

    Nobody at the checkin after 8pm and the host was nowhere to be found to get firewood and one of the campers had their camper hooked up to the water spicket so I had to go to a different part of the park to get water for my dog. The people that came to clean the east bath house rushed in and rushed out and almost knocking an elderly lady on her bump cuz they were in such a hurry to get in and out.
    (more...)

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    08/30/2018

    Our stay at white crane

    We camped at white crane in 26 ft class A. Pad was nice, view was great, and overall we had a good time. I am, however, wheelchair bound and getting around is a bit difficult. Fishing was ok for the handicap but limited. One bad note... a park ranger stopped me on my mobility scooter and demanded to see my license and registration for the scooter. He also said I needed a South Dakota park sticker to be in the park. I laughed as I thought he was joking. He was not, believe me. After explaining the mobility scooter thing, he called someone on the radio for clarification. The person on the radio said to let me go. Is this the best park rangers can do? I think more training is needed here...or smarter rangers.
    (more...)

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    08/30/2018

    Comfortable and quiet

    I rented one of the camping cabins for a 2 night stay while attending the local art festival (Yankton Riverboat Days). I was impressed by the size of the deck attached to the cabin and the parking area for my cabin. There was a charcoal grill available as well as a fire pit. The cabin had a screen door, which was nice, but more importantly, it had an air conditioner! I was disappointed with the condition of the shoreline near my cabin (#8) as it had not been groomed at all and there were volunteer trees and heavy weeds, which attract mosquitoes. So, unfortunately, I did not spend any time on the nice deck nor did I make my way down the small path outside my cabin to the water. I was absolutely thrilled with how comfortable the beds were. I would say the mattresses in this cabin are better than most mattresses I have slept on in nice hotels, no exaggeration! I would love to buy one for my guest bedroom, they are that comfortable. I have issues with my hands falling asleep at night and my hips ache sometimes at night, and I did not have either of these issues while sleeping here! Hooray! I did not use the vault toilet, but I did use the shower house restroom and showers. I would say they were clean, but outdated. The shower and dressing stalls were very small and the paneling looked like it was from the 70's. But there was plenty of hot water and like I said, they were clean, and I got the job done so I can't complain too much. The drive to the campground is very easy on well maintained roads, and I enjoyed stopping at the dam. The view on the lake in the morning was breathtaking, and I will be back for another visit!
    (more...)

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    08/29/2018

    Great service

    We had a bad circuit breaker in the electrical box. I called it in and it was repaired in 10 minutes.
    (more...)

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    08/14/2018

    The Cleanest

    There was a concern in the comfort station but the cleaning crew was immediately there to tidy up! The park is always clean in general! The campground hosts are always available if questions arise!
    (more...)

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    08/06/2018

    Fun

    We had a fun time a Chief White Crane! We took walks, visited family and friends, and learned to ride kayaks. We will be back!!!
    (more...)

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    08/06/2018

    This is a GREAT campground

    We absolutely love camping here. It is peaceful and roomy. You're not on top of other campers. There is a lot of room between spots.
    (more...)

    (more...)
    Jump to: of 10