• Reviews
  • PARK REVIEWS

    A minusOverall Rating
    07/17/2018

    Great experience

    Nice, clean and well appointed campground. Warning, the roads into the park are not for the faint of heart if you're not used to pulling or driving your rig on narrow, winding roads. There were some steep inclines, but do-able. Restaurant on site is very nice and the store has a lot of merchandise, including many souvenirs.
    (more...)

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    07/16/2018

    Great Family Place

    We stayed at two of Custer's campgrounds.... amazing value for price. Clean bathrooms, friendly hosts.
    (more...)

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    07/15/2018

    Trip to Center Lake

    Excellent facilities, with clean restrooms, showers, and campsites. The beach is beautiful. The wildlife was plentiful, and the flowers were at their peak. Fishing was slow, but the fish were jumping for bugs late in the day. We were using the wrong bait! Great hiking trails with a variety of scenery. We definitely want to return.
    (more...)

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    07/15/2018

    Blue bell

    Loved it. Was concerned about all the down trees, but was assured it was all ok. That forest service was collecting trees in piles to burn in the winter. Had a great hike to Black Elk Peak. Easy to read maps places everywhere to take along.
    (more...)

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    07/15/2018

    Great visit

    We arrived at our Legion Lake campsite and were very pleased with the size and cleanliness of the level site. The host was on-site. Easy access to very clean restrooms and showers and plenty of dumpsters for everyone's trash situated next to the bathhouse. Easy access to hiking trails and to the various scenic routes in the park. The town of Custer is a short drive from the campground. We had lunch in the Legion Lake restaurant. Service and the food were both good. The park itself is beautiful and full of interesting places to visit. We recommend that folks watch the video about the park that is located in the Visitor Center. Everyone affiliated with the park was friendly and very helpful during our stay. Our only disappointment was that we saw very few bison. Not sure if the rainy weather or the work being done to mitigate the damage from last year's fire kept the bison away from the roads. The Needles area is beautiful. We definitely recommend a visit.
    (more...)

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    07/14/2018

    Nature, quietness and stars

    We have been 2 nights at the Center Lake campground. We had two wonderful sites in the forest. You could feel and smell the nature and in june it was still quiet. We enjoyed it!!! We contacted the campingoffice by the telefone on the site to get a site on the camping. Negative point that this was not easy and took a long time, so it is better to make a reservation. Another point to improve is a sign where you can find the showers. We visited Mount Rushmore and took a ride in the Park. Wonderful!!
    (more...)

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    07/13/2018

    Stay in the heart of it all by camping in the park!

    Custer State Park has incredible scenery, wildlife, and hiking opportunities, and the best way to see it is by staying right in the park. We stayed at three separate campgrounds (Stockade South, Grace Coolidge, and Legion Lake) and loved them all. All the campgrounds were clean, safe, and pleasant. The bathhouses stood out -- they were immaculate and really pleasant to use. We can't wait to return.
    (more...)

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    07/13/2018

    Bison are the size of your car

    First, full disclosure. We have been bringing our children to Custer for decades and have camped at many of the campgrounds. It was my son-in-laws first trip to South Dakota. No matter how many times you describe the beauty, show photographs or discuss the incredible feeling of being in the park it doesn't do it justice. The look on his face when the bison walked up to his car inches away is something I wish all parents could share with their families. Next year it's the grandchildren.
    (more...)

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    07/12/2018

    RV trip

    We enjoyed our stay at State Game Lodge in a 34' motorhome. The sites are separated a good distance which is nice. We drove the wildlife loop, rode bicycles along the path that ran by the campground, drove Iron Mountain road, and generally relaxed. It's a very nice State Park.
    (more...)

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    07/12/2018

    SD at its best

    Tent camped at Blue Bell. Amazing campground. Bathrooms were SUPER clean. Camp hosts were two of the nicest people I've ever met. They let us know of several events that were happening in other areas of Custer. Was just my 9yr old son and I. Seriously I could go on and on about what an amazing time we had.. We will be back again and again. We were in dire need of a relaxing vacation and that's exactly what we got... I literally have nothing bad to say!!!!! We fell in love with the Black Hills.. It will be our go to spot for years to come!!!!
    (more...)

    (more...)
    Jump to: of 10