• Reviews
  • PARK REVIEWS

    A minusOverall Rating
    09/11/2018

    Great Experience

    This was our first visit to this park and overall experience was really amazing. We did camping for four nights, park is really well maintained and it exceeded my expectation. Will definately visit again :)
    (more...)

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    09/06/2018

    Serene

    We camped at Grace Coolidge. A very small quiet campground. Nice shower house. Roomy campsite with fire pit. Nice couple managing the campground. We really enjoyed our stay.
    (more...)

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    09/05/2018

    Highs and Lows

    We stayed at the camp grounds at Sylvan Lake. Drove up the long way from main entrance to see the Needles Highway. Gorgeous! The camping spot was ok but I didn't realize the space was up on a hill and therefore we had to park on the road and walk our gear up the hill. Not horrible, but not convenient. The next day we went to Mt. Rushmore and enjoyed a short, lovely drive. Then came back to chaos. The lake and store area were jam packed with cars, buses and people. Luckily we were camping and didn't need to park there but it was still overwhelming, much more "touristy" than we anticipated. There's a great walking path from the campsite to the lake which we enjoyed, but you still have to cross over the busy road and there really isn't a cross walk or anything marking the path so drivers know walkers might be coming. Once at lake, we waited in line at store to inquire about paddle boat rentals because that (and proximity to Mt. R) was one reason I chose Sylvan Lake. We were told that they were understaffed and decided not to provide water rentals that day. That on top of the sand area at the lake being completely packed, it was just not a good experience. I had hoped to relax, enjoy the beauty of the lake and the park. But it was way too busy for that kind of experience. Very disappointed.
    (more...)

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    09/01/2018

    camping at Game Lodge campground

    Our 2nd outing with our 17 ft. travel trailer. We moved to two different campsites in Game Lodge without difficulty as it was over the July 4th week with last minute reservations. The campsites on the creek are the best with some great tent sites right next to the water. I biked the bike trail twice up and back to the Grace Coolidge campground. All downhill coming back. One can bike to the store (which has annoying, noisy, endless coolers with many types of bottled drinks - but no water bottle refilling spigots). I miss the old fashioned charming sit-down restaurant they had in there years ago with the slamming screen door. Sometimes modernizing takes away the whole reason one went to a destination in the first place. One can bike to the new visitor center that has a short movie in there about the park which one should see. Otherwise the huge building is lacking in character and content. The old visitor center is a delightful stone and timber building just down the road one can also bike to that is now an education center I believe. The campsites at Game Lodge are big and far apart and ours were dark at night. I appreciated the host coming around and making contact with us.
    (more...)

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    08/31/2018

    BlueBell Cabins

    We stayed for four nights in the Blue Bell camping cabins. Such a wonderful experience! The cabin was clean and well-suited for the five of us. The campground itself (including the bathroom/shower) was clean and peaceful. We were able to do so much while staying there: Windcaves Natl Park, Mt. Rushmore, Badlands Natl Park and Wall Drug (a long day trip,) driving through Custer State Park, which was a favorite and really a must-see. The small town of Custer is also quite fun with several very good restaurants. Our family really enjoyed the Hayride and Chuckwagon cookout that we booked through the Blue Bell Lodge. Teenagers were skeptical at first but ended up having fun! We are already looking forward to returning to Custer in the future!
    (more...)

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    08/31/2018

    Awesome

    Very nice campground, hosts were great, bags provided for my dog, showers were clean & good pressure.
    (more...)

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    08/31/2018

    Amazing Park!

    I am from Florida and I have had friends tell me how wonderful Custer State Park is, and it did not disappoint! Clean campgrounds/facilities, beautiful scenery, and friendly and helpful staff! The wildlife was amazing, never thought I would drive through a herd of hundreds of Bison. Highly recommend visiting this park and we cannot wait to come back!
    (more...)

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    08/31/2018

    Scenic drives

    My Family only had one night at Custer State Park and wish we had more. We stayed at Stockade North and loved the big camp site and beautiful setting. The only inconvenience was there is only one dump station in the park and it was at least 30 min each way so we did not end up using it. The bathroom was clean and showers hot. We only had time for 2 scenic drives which were both incredible, we did the wild life loop around dinner time and it is everything it was described to be. We saw so many bison right up to our car in big groups. Then same night we we did needles highway and the sun was going down it was beautiful. ( want to be off road by time sun is down though). We ended at Sylvan Lake which was gorgeous as the sun set. We were able to just walk a little there and would have liked to spend at least a half day there . It is a so beautiful and looks like they rent non power boats , a little store . It is a very beautiful park overall. Next time we will spend more time. The visitor center in Custer was helpful and very friendly staff. we also got our groceries in Custer which was helpful. we had come from the badlands and stopped at Mount Rushmore along the way which was also worthwhile.
    (more...)

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    08/31/2018

    Fantastic Park and Camping Facilities

    I hesitate to say how amazing this place is because I want to be able to come here again. This was an unplanned stopping point as we were delayed with our progress. We popped in to see if we could lay our heads here for one night and stayed for 3. An amazing clean campground and fantastic park options for exploring. Plan to be back soon.
    (more...)

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    08/31/2018

    Camping Fun

    Our family loves camping at Custer Park. Our favorite things to do are hike,swim, and see the wildlife. Sylvan lake is beautiful! We always bring our grandchildren many times during the summer. They love to drive the Wildlife Loop and go for hikes. So relaxing just sitting at the State Game Lodge campground and enjoying the great outdoors.Can't wait for next summer!
    (more...)

    (more...)
    Jump to: of 10