• Reviews
  • High Plains Camping and RV

    PARK REVIEWS

    A minusOverall Rating
    05/10/2018

    Nice stay

    Nice small RV park. Easy to get to right off the highway. Large pull through spaces were great. I even stayed an extra day to do some sightseeing. I would definitely use them again if in the area!
    (more...)

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    04/12/2018

    Review

    Adequate for stopping overnight. Easy to pull into campsite and out again. All Sites are gravel and fairly level. Adequate space in campsite. Table provided but campfire and charcoal grills not allowed. Owner was pleasant, available, and helpful. She even went up to her home above the office to get half and half for my coffee. Free Keurig Coffee. Next door restaurant only ok. Nice that they are open year round
    (more...)

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    09/29/2017

    What service

    Can say enough about the helpful check in and great attitude. The restaurant "Capt Jacks Pub " was great. I've stayed in fancier parks , but the owners went out of the way to be helpful.
    (more...)

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    08/29/2017

    Perfect BaseCamp

    We used this as a point to visit the National Historic sites and to Geocache. It was a great spot close to roads hat allowed us to range to all the locations we wanted to see. Being convenient to highways often means nighttime road noise, but virtually not noticeable. Most of our neighbors where over nighters, the on site restaurant excellent. Overall a very good experience
    (more...)

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    04/28/2017

    Overnight Stay

    We stopped heremovernight. The lady in the office was very pleasant and we found our campsite,easily. It was just long enough to stay hooked up for our overnight stay. The campsite was basic gravel as were the interior roads. There was excellent lighting near our campsite. We ordered baby back ribs from Jac's Pub and although they were brought to our trailer and were hot, they were not baby back Rob's but large ribs and not very tender. It was an good place for us to stop,overnight.
    (more...)

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    11/16/2016

    Burrs

    Owners are great. Food was excellent. However, if you are traveling with a dog (we were there in November), there are burrs everywhere, gravel, grass, and dog run. The owners have been working to fix this problem, but it is frustrating for dog owners not to have a place to walk their dog.
    (more...)

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    10/01/2016

    Dump

    This campground is a dump. The host is poor. The service is poor. The facility is poor. The access road is poor. The utility connection was extremely poor and not properly located. The only positive is that the site was level and the gas station across the street is easy to use by a large RV. I would suggest others look for an alternate campground that will offer a better experience.
    (more...)



    Management Response

    Well Bob, you truly are the type of camper that campground owners dread. From the moment you walked through the door, your bad attitude shined through to the entire staff. You were unhappy with the fact that we are a non smoking park even though you told us you knew in advance about our policy. We offered to tell you where other campgrounds were but you were content to wallow in your misery. We explained the correct method to postion your RV in your site, but you seemed to want to do it your way, so of course the utility connections didn't match up. Then we had to talk to you about letting your dog run freely around the park ( 2 campers complained to us about it) and asked you to pick up after your dog, which you did not do. You also left trash on your site when you left. Classy. We were glad to see you go. So, I too have a recommendation, but mine is for other campground owners. Please watch out for this guy. You do not want him at your campground. Bob, we have hundreds of happy campers every year. They come here and have fun, and leave happy. Once in awhile we have a miserable one that is never happy. Please stay away. J DesRoches owner
    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    08/08/2016

    One of the worst parks we've stayed in

    The driveway into and out of the park was so bad, we had to drive extremely slow so as not to knock everything off the shelves in our 42' motor home. The pictures of the park on the internet were totally wrong in their representation of the park. We couldn't believe the park we pulled into was the same one we saw on line. During check-in the woman at the counter was very rude and abrupt. When explaining the rules to us she kept referring to "her" property (i.e., my sewer system, my bathrooms, my water, etc.). The signage in the park is very confusing and when we made a wrong turn she could not have been more rude as to how we could get our RV turned into our assigned spot. We set up, and only left the coach to walk the dog. We were glad to leave in the morning, once we got through the rough driveway!
    (more...)



    Management Response

    First off the driveway is not ours. It belongs to the Restaurant in front of us and the 18 wheel trucks do that damage. I am concise as I explain the do's and don'ts of staying in our park as to minimize the damage people do to things they don't care about as it is not theirs. As for our signage IF people read and follow the directions that I give them and draw out for them upon check in there is no problem with getting to a site as, hundreds of campers do every year. But then again there are those who say we have too many signs. As for stopping you when you were going the wrong way after not following the map I saved you from having to unhook your tow if you would have gone much further as you were heading for a dead end. J DesRoches Owner
    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    06/06/2016

    Lousy Host

    I've never met a such an insulting host of a campground. It was almost as though she didn't want to be there or do her job. Insulting, rude, aggressive, abrupt, unwelcoming. It was horrid to talk to this woman.
    (more...)



    Management Response

    I'm sorry you found my demeanor unpleasant. But since I specifically kept notes in regards to your visit I know exactly who you are. You came to me from Tent 4 Troops a very nice group for the most part. You received your FHU site for $20 as was my arrangement with the group. You got upset with me because you had to call as I was out of the office mowing. I came as swiftly a the tractor would go. You had your dog with you and proceeded to try and bring him into the office. This area is off limits to pet as food is prepared in the pizza kitchen. When I told you he wasn't allowed you told me he was a service animal. I asked you the two questions I am allowed by law to ask to determine if he actually was. It turned out that he wasn't a service animal. You got mad that you had to put him in the car. I proceeded to check you in and get you settled even though you were very rude to me and got even more upset with me when you asked if you could take your dog in our pub and pool area. I'm sorry if my rules upset you but after my experience with you I contacted Tent 4 Troops and told them of this experience and I no longer wanted to be a tent 4 troops park. J DesRoches owner
    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    01/28/2016

    great spot

    After traveling over 5000 miles in January and staying in many campgrounds, we found this spot to be the very best. They understand how to make rv traveling comfortable! Our overnight here was great.
    (more...)

    (more...)

    12

    Jump to: of 2