• Reviews
  • Holiday Trav-L-Park-Virginia Beach

    PARK REVIEWS

    A minusOverall Rating
    10/23/2017

    Losing me.

    We just got back from Halloween camping at Holiday Trav-L-Park in Virginia Beach. The Good: Perfect weather--mid 70's during the day and low 60's at night. The campers--very enthusiastic and great decorations. The Bad: Thursday, as we are setting up, a lady walked past out site and commented on the decorations we had up so far. That was her "in." Then she began talking about reading tarot cards and how scary accurate she is and how they have changed her life and how she only uses them to help make people better.......for the low cost of $20 for a reading. Once we got rid of her I headed to the office to complain about being solicited at my site by someone who was endorsed by the campground. On my way there I had to pass the abortion of lu-la-rue signs about every 10 feet that lead to the toy hauler popup store setup in the super sites. These signs are only in the front of the campground from the entrance to store, but there are at least 100 of them To add to that her husband rides around the rest of the campground in his golf cart covered with signs, just in case we didn't see the ones up front. I made my complaint and the manager seamed receptive. When I left I noticed a new attraction just inside the entrance. There was a class A camper setup with what I could beds describe as a garage sale. I'm not sure if the owners of this campground really understand why people go camping. We've been regulars here for almost a decade now. Something has changed at Holiday Trav-L-Park in the past couple years, and it's not for the better. Hopefully they will figure it out soon because I don't want to have to find a new regular place to camp.
    (more...)
    courtesy of Camping.com

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    10/07/2016

    Customer Service

    Hurricane Matthew is hitting the east coast. I made reservations 2 months ago. I called to cancel, they said you lose your $47 deposit we're only getting strong wind and 2 inches of rain Saturday and Sunday, sorry. I travel to VA Beach 4 times a year and this was the first time at this campground. Need I say the last time and I've never been there. Go to KOA much nicer. UPDATE: Heavy winds and now 3 to 5 inches of rain expected. I would think that a campsite would at least charge half rather than trying to make money in a hurricane. Customer service is severely lacking at this location, I can imagine how they handle other concerns.
    (more...)

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    07/26/2016

    happy

    This was the best campground that me or my wife had ever been to.we had cement to set camper on that made it easy as could be to level.cable was great, was very clean and staff was very helpful.
    (more...)

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    07/23/2016

    summer fun

    AWESOME
    (more...)

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    11/09/2015

    Halloween camping fun

    My grandkids had a great time here for Halloween. The campers who wanted to participate, had their campsites decked out and they sat outside with their candy. Everyone was well behaved, and the campground felt safe for the kids to hang out.
    (more...)

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    10/02/2015

    Halloween

    We have been camping at Holiday for years. We started with a tent and are now in a motorhome. October is a favorite time to visit because of the Halloween celebrations during the month. We enjoy all this park has to offer. The only problem is that during the week the jets from Oceana fly frequently.
    (more...)

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    08/26/2015

    no security

    We have stayed many times at this campground on a supersite. Every year we see security driving around all night, except not this time. We stayed a full week and did not see one security person. Our vehicle was left unlocked on accident, yes this was our fault, but someone or some people went into it and took money. We reported this to the office. A few nights later, someone wipes us clean of all the beer and wine coolers we had in our cooler. You would have thought we would have seen security, especially after they got busy and these types of things were reported, but nope, not one. The guard shack was also left unmanned several times. We would stay here again, but make sure you keep your valuables put away and locked up. That goes for bikes as well. A friend of ours had theirs stolen from here several years ago.
    (more...)

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    08/17/2015

    Not Happy

    My daughter and my wallet were both stolen from our vehicle. Not much sympathy from the office staff. Handled in a very poor manner!
    (more...)

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    08/12/2015

    Loved the Super sites...

    Just left the campground today and will be back. I have sister who lives nearby and we camped the KOA earlier this year on the way to OBX and Holiday is a major step up. We stayed 4 notes in 853 and it was a great sit . Love the concrete slab and the size of site is perfect. Actually bought a new 35 foot travel trailer the week before and it was nice to have such a clean site for our first trip out. Staff was very friendly and park is very large. So nice to have multiple pools so its not as crowded. With the super sites you get what you pay for. There are plenty of other lower priced sites but having the peaceful environment was nice. We will be booking 7 days and already found which sites we would like to have.. See ya soon.
    (more...)

    (more...)
    A minusOverall Rating
    08/11/2015

    Friendliness

    Your out side staff needs to be more friendly, they also need to pick up trash that is laying on the ground. You also need to stay on top of the campers that do not pick up after there pets.
    (more...)

    (more...)